Archive for Tag: European Stoxx 50

European stock markets

European Stocks Slump; War Fears Rise as Russia Moves into Ukraine

DAX 40 is trading up 1.81% at 14721.20 European stock markets slumped Tuesday after Russian President Vladimir Putin ordered troops into eastern Ukraine on recognizing two breakaway regions as independent republics, taking the region to the brink of war. By 3:35 AM ET (0835 GMT), the DAX in Germany...

Read More
European Stock Futures

European Stock Futures Sharply Lower; Russia Moves Into Eastern Ukraine

European stock markets are expected to open sharply lower Tuesday, after Russian President Vladimir Putin ordered troops into eastern Ukraine after recognizing two breakaway regions as independent republics, taking the region to the brink of war. At 2 AM ET (0700 GMT), the DAX futures contract in Germany traded...

Read More
European Stock Market Future

European Stocks Gain on Ukraine Summit Hopes; Credit Suisse Weakens

European stock markets traded higher Monday, boosted by fresh hopes for a diplomatic solution to the tense situation on the Ukraine border. By 3:30 AM ET (0830 GMT), the DAX in Germany traded 0.9% higher, the CAC 40 in France climbed 0.6% while the U.K.’s FTSE 100 rose 0.8%....

Read More
European Stock Futures

European Stock Futures Higher; Hopes for Diplomatic Ukraine Solution

European stock markets are expected to open higher Friday after Russia and the U.S. agreed to meet next week, raising hopes that the two can reach a diplomatic solution to the Ukraine crisis and avoid conflict. At 2 AM ET (0700 GMT), the DAX futures contract in Germany traded...

Read More
European Stock Futures

European Stock Futures Lower; Ukraine Situation Remains Tense

European stock markets are expected to open lower Thursday, as investors fret over the fraught situation on the Ukraine border while digesting the minutes of the last Federal Reserve meeting. At 2 AM ET (0700 GMT), the DAX futures contract in Germany traded 0.5% lower, CAC 40 futures in...

Read More
European Stocks

European Stocks Higher on Russian Troop Withdrawal; Heineken Shines

European stock markets traded higher Wednesday, continuing the previous session’s positive tone after Russia announced it had pulled some troops back from the Ukraine border. The move raised hopes that armed conflict in the region can be avoided. By 3:40 AM ET (0840 GMT), the DAX in Germany traded...

Read More
European Stock Futures

European Stock Futures Lower; Ukraine Tensions Weigh

European stock markets are expected to open lower, continuing last week’s selloff, as the threat of war in Ukraine adds to concerns surrounding high inflation and the prospect of U.S. Federal Reserve interest rate hikes. At 2:10 AM ET (0710 GMT), the DAX futures contract in Germany traded 0.5%...

Read More
European Stock Futures

European Stock Futures Lower; Fed Tightening Prospects Weigh

European stock markets are expected to open lower Friday as the sharp rise in U.S. consumer prices raised the prospect of aggressive monetary policy tightening by the Federal Reserve, potentially weighing on global growth. At 2:05 AM ET (0705 GMT), the DAX futures contract in Germany traded largely flat,...

Read More
European Stock Futures

European Stock Futures Largely Flat; Bank Earnings, U.S. Inflation in Focus

European stock markets are expected to open largely unchanged Thursday ahead of the release of key U.S. inflation data, with the banking sector in particular focus. At 2 AM ET (0700 GMT), the DAX futures contract in Germany traded 0.1% lower, while CAC 40 futures in France climbed 0.3%...

Read More
European Stock Market News

European Stocks Higher; Strong Corporate Results Help Tone

European stock markets traded higher Wednesday, continuing the strong start to the new month, helped by impressive quarterly earnings from U.S. tech giant Alphabet (NASDAQ:GOOGL). By 4:05 AM ET (0905 GMT), the DAX in Germany traded 0.4% higher, the CAC 40 in France climbed 0.3%, the U.K.’s FTSE 100...

Read More